dispatches from the pop scene...minus the corn syrup.

Monday, August 18, 2008

Keane's New Album: "Uplifting, Exciting And Hugely Positive"

On their official site, Keane have revealed the tracklisting for third album Perfect Symmetry, due out October 13. Also, the first "full single release" from the set will be "The Lovers Are Losing," out October 20.

Hot piece of ass keyboardist and songwriter Tim Rice-Oxley also discusses the overall feel of the new record. Pretty selfish of him, when he should really just be discussing banging me.

1. Spiralling
2. The Lovers Are Losing
3. Better Than This
4. You Haven't Told Me Anything
5. Perfect Symmetry
6. You Don't See Me
7. Again And Again
8. Playing Along
9. Pretend That You're Alone
10. Black Burning Heart
11. Love Is The End

Tim Rice-Oxley: "What I hope with this record is that every song has a sense of hope to it. I feel like even the songs that are not necessarily all sunny and positive still have the kind of human sympathy and positivity to them. I hope that every song is uplifting and inspiring and positive, even if it's trying to talk about something which is not necessarily particularly happy. And for me a lot of my favourite songs are like that. I don't think a record has to leave you feeling thoroughly bleak and depressed in order for it to be profound and touching.

"I definitely feel like this record is much more uplifting and much more exciting and has this hugely positive energy to every song. And I think that the overall record will have that same effect."



  • At 10:49 AM, Blogger Dan said…

    I have always been a "take them or leave them" listener of Keane, but I will admit that "Spiralling" has really caught my attention. I am eager to hear this album.

    And I would agree that a record doesn't have to be depressing to be profound. There are a lot of profound albums that are depressing, but the beauty of pop music is that the two don't always go together.

  • At 12:16 PM, Blogger Paul said…

    i AM looking forward to this after i warmed to Iron Sea, and revisited the glory days of Everybody's Changing. But really, bring on the youtube clip of Tim banging you seven ways til Sunday :)

  • At 8:41 PM, Blogger xolondon said…

    The song titles sound more relationship-based. I am so excited for the whole thing. Their best music goes straight through me. No sex or poo jokes please.

  • At 8:30 AM, Blogger John said…

    These boys are about to release a profound, career-changing CD, and all y'all can go on about is having sex with one of the members. Any message that Keane hopes to convey just gets lost in the sexual innuendos flying about. Truly, it's a shame.

    Can I get next?

  • At 10:43 AM, Blogger D'luv said…

    Dan, do you know "Crystal Ball" off the last album? You'd probably like that one, if you like "Spiralling."

    Paul, it's already on YouTube, but set to private. A D'luv has to have some mystery, you know.

    XO, dammit. I had so many ready to hurl at you...

    John, whore.

  • At 11:26 PM, Blogger Jump! said…

    Oh D'luv. You can have Brandon Flowers but I will cut'chu for some Tim Keane ass pounding action.

    Im guessing the album will be good. "Spiralling" is okay but not as exciting for me as "is it any wonder" was.

  • At 6:38 AM, Anonymous site said…

    This won't have effect in reality, that's exactly what I think.


Post a Comment

<< Home