dispatches from the pop scene...minus the corn syrup.

Sunday, September 07, 2008

Christina Aguilera's Not-So-Greatest Hits

The U.K. chart is a bit logjammed this week, with the exception of the Pussycat Dolls, who debut at #3 with "When I Grow Up" and New Kids On The Block who enter at #34 with "Summertime."

So instead, let's turn our attention to Christina Aguilera's Keeps Gettin' Better—A Decade Of Hits, which is out November 11. (That's the "Keeps Gettin' Better" single cover (listen here), not the full album, above.)

First up, if RCA is even going to bother, they ought to come up with a better tracklisting than this:

1. "Keeps Gettin' Better" (new single)
2. "Genie In A Bottle"
3. "Dirrty (featuring Redman)"
4. "Beautiful"
5. "Candyman"
6. "What a Girl Wants"
7. "Fighter"
8. "Ain't No Other Man"
9. "I Turn To You"
10. "Come On Over Baby (All I Want Is You)"
11. "Hurt"
12. "Dynamite" (new song)
13. "Decade: The Megamix"

Twelve tracks? That's it? Where's "The Voice Within"? And "Can't Hold Us Down"? And even "Lady Marmalade"? Lil' Kim appears on those latter two, so maybe X-tina has a beef with her now doesn't want her to get any royalties?

But, Jesus, at least throw on that trash from Mulan, or one of her Spanish or Christmas songs. Otherwise, what's even the point?

Oh, well. Not like I care, really. This broad's been dead to me since "Dirrty." My mom likes her, though, so this'll be a nice stocking stuffer. And my dad just likes when she does Maxim.

The U.K. Top 10:

1. "I Kissed A Girl" - Katy Perry *5 weeks*
2. "Pjanoo" - Eric Prydz
3. "When I Grow Up" - Pussycat Dolls *new*
4. "Disturbia" - Rihanna
5. "The Man Who Can't Be Moved" - The Script
6. "Beggin'" - Madcon
7. "All Summer Long" - Kid Rock
8. "Mountains" - Biffy Clyro
9. "Dance Wiv Me" - Dizzee Rascal/Calvin Harris/Chrome
10. "Love Is Noise" - The Verve

Labels: , , ,


  • At 10:50 PM, Blogger John said…

    Maybe they'll be on the Deluxe Target version, with a limited-edition Colorforms set of Xtina lingerie.

  • At 12:05 AM, Anonymous Control said…

    hmm, i don't know where you got that tracklist, but it's wrong

    the official one isn't out yet, but a press release said there will be 10 old hits, which does include Lady Marmalade, the two new songs, and the two new mixes of Genie and Beautiful

  • At 11:24 AM, Anonymous Matt said…

    Dizzee Rascal is quite great! I love him he's really a great rapper, who brought a lot of fresh air to the musical scene! http://www.deezer.com/en/dizzee-rascal.html

  • At 9:04 PM, Anonymous Anonymous said…

    can someone explain why she is saying a decade of hits when her first official album with RCA/Sony, which started the hits, was only released in 2000? It's like janet's design of a decade released a year before she had the decade of pop design!

  • At 1:08 AM, Blogger Paul said…

    oh god, i despise bad tracklistings :( Boo that whore.

    Talking of whores what is with the british top five? oh right - all the FHM/Maxim reading lads are back from the summer "vacay" and have gone slut mad. That must be it.

  • At 9:55 PM, Anonymous Christina Wash said…

    They are probably keeping those other good tracks for her greatest hits volume 2 hahah, Guaranteed earnings for no studio time or creative effort, why not?

  • At 5:04 PM, Anonymous Stewart said…

    Thanks so much for this article, pretty useful material.
    rental car brooklyn | travel insurance for over 65 | lab school chicago


Post a Comment

<< Home