dispatches from the pop scene...minus the corn syrup.

Friday, December 26, 2008

Pet Shop Boys' New Album Is 'Yes'

The Pet Shop Boys note on their official site that their upcoming studio album, out in March, will be titled Yes. As mentioned previously, the first single off the Xenomania-produced set will be "Love, Etc."

Yes is quite the positive, upbeat title, no? Hopefully, after getting the Latin, moody club, musical theater, stripped-down and overproduced urges out of the Boys' collective systems, they're back to proper pop.

That would be so very Very.

Labels: ,


  • At 1:43 PM, Blogger Yuяi said…

    Amen to proper pop!

  • At 3:45 PM, Blogger Paul said…

    r being very unexcited about their last album, i eventually warmed to it months after everyone else and am now ever so looking forward to this effort!!

  • At 7:02 PM, Blogger John said…

    "Yes" is a perfect title for a Pet Shop Boys CD, in the hallowed tradition of "Please", "Actually", and "Very". I'm definitely looking forward to it, especially with Xenomania in the mix.

  • At 7:01 AM, Blogger El MarvelOso said…

    It's nice to be excited again by a new release from PSB.

  • At 7:18 AM, Blogger Robpop said…

    What a wanky title. More like "No".

  • At 12:20 PM, Blogger D'luv said…

    Yuri, in the midst of proper pop we are in death, etc.

    Paul, you were pretty let-down/under-excited about many albums in 2006, I recall. I blame it on your over-enthusiasm for The Feeling that year!

    John, many folks complained that the last one had too many ballads/slow songs. I'm hoping this one is more upbeat.

    El Marv, your avatar's ears seem pretty excited!

    Rob, looks like someone got a lump of coal in their stocking this year!

  • At 3:33 PM, Anonymous Johnny D said…

    I Can't wait. If it's anything like the PSB/Xenomania written "The Loving Kind" that sadly was given to "Strippers Aloud" then it should be great. Fundamental was real return to form and I am surprised there weren't more singles lifted from it.

  • At 7:12 AM, Blogger Robpop said…

    I know. Didn't get the sex toy I wanted. :-(

    Still, got a great pink ipod. Perhaps I was harsh on those PSBoys. Perhaps "Nah" is a better title. Or something German. Like "Ja!". Then come christmas...they can do a double cd release. Call it "Nah Ja!".

  • At 6:39 AM, Blogger Staff said…

    Tracklist for "YES"

    1. Love etc.
    2. All over the world
    3. Beautiful people
    4. Did you see me coming?
    5. Vulnerable
    6. More than a dream
    7. Building a wall
    8. King of Rome
    9. Pandemonium
    10. The way it used to be
    11. Legacy

  • At 10:55 AM, Anonymous Anonymous said…

    ''Yes '' definately


Post a Comment

<< Home