dispatches from the pop scene...minus the corn syrup.

Thursday, April 23, 2009

An EP's Worth Of New Material (Including A Richard X Mix) On Next Pet Shop Boys Single

In the liner notes for one of the Pet Shop Boys' Further Listening remastered albums—either Introspective or Bilingual, I can't recall which—Neil Tennant says the duo is always coming up with great ideas for EPs, but their label always shoots them down. But their second single off Yes, "Did You See Me Coming?" would actually make a great EP, given all the goodies included.

Naturally, that won't happen, and all extras are getting spread over no less than three digital bundle singles, two CDs and a 12" vinyl release.

Out in the U.K. on June 1, "Did You See Me Coming?" will contain in its various formats a 12" mix (Yay!), the "Unicorn Kid Mix," three B-sides ("After The Event," "The Former Enfante Terrible" and "Up And Down"), their Brits medley and a Richard X mix of Yes track "The Way It Used To Be."

UPDATE: (From April 24) Chris Lowe says on Twitter, "Just finished our new mix of 'Did you see me coming?' It's got a lot of new vocals, both spoken and sung."

The video for "Did You See Me Coming?" was shot yesterday in London, with former Jesus And Mary Chain member Douglas Hart directing.

Yes was released in the U.S. this week. So far, it's reached #10 on the iTunes Store's top albums ranking, and #6 on Amazon's best-sellers list.



  • At 3:14 PM, Blogger daavid said…

    Really looking forward to that Richard X mix. I think PSB and X have very good chemistry!

  • At 4:28 PM, Blogger Paul said…

    don't get me wrong, i love the song and think it's a great summer single, but it's sort of an odd choice seeing as it is the track they gave away as part of their mail on sunday free cd. Epic extras though :)

  • At 6:44 PM, Anonymous Anonymous said…

    Wait till you hear the Unicorn Kid remix - Awesome!

  • At 7:22 PM, Blogger Poster Girl said…

    THREE b-sides? Now that's spoiling us. Those remixes sound very appealing as well.

  • At 8:26 PM, Blogger Michael said…

    Sounds promising; PSB do some of the best b-sides.

  • At 8:40 PM, Blogger JimmyD said…

    Aaahhhh... How much more PSB can I bring into the home?? Right now I have 224 tracks in my iTunes library!!! Oh wait... I still have 40 available gigs still on the iPod!!
    Bring it on PSB!!

  • At 8:54 PM, Blogger D'luv said…

    Daavid, yeah, "Fugitive" is a masterpiece. Shoulda been the album opener on Fundamental instead of "Psychological," alas they stuck with all Trevor Horn.

    Paul, Neil said the label was pushing hard for it to be the 2nd single, and they might not want to rock the boat at the moment.

    Anonymous, will take your word for it...and hold you to it!

    PG, yeah, they're good to their fans!

    Michael, "Gin And Jag" came up on shuffle this morning, and it was a reminder how rad that track really is! I think of the post-Alternative B-sides, "The Resurrectionist" is still my favorite. Followed closely by "We're The Pet Shop Boys."

    Jimmy, tell me about it; I just had to remove some stuff on my own to make room for the 2001 "Further Listening" of Bilingual and Introspective.

  • At 10:46 PM, Anonymous we are not the pet shop boys said…

    3 digital maxis plus physical formats? They reek of desperation a la Billiam. Once again, they'll reach the Top 20, and drop out of the Top 100 by the third week.

  • At 12:33 PM, Blogger Robin said…

    Do you think they will do an Alternative 2? How much material will they need?

  • At 12:48 PM, Blogger D'luv said…

    Robin, there's an 'unofficial' collection listed at Discogs.com called Beside (get it?), which picks up where Alternative left off and collects all the B-sides from "Before" through "Numb" (so, 1996 - 2006), and throws in "It Doesn't Often Snow At Christmas" and "Break 4 Love," to boot.

    I'm sure they'll do another one, though, officially. After this album would be the time, as a commercial release while they're concentrating on the ballet they're doing in 2011.

  • At 3:44 PM, Anonymous Johnny D said…

    It's a great song, but condsidering it's well and truly do or die time for the album they needed to bring out the big guns and release Pandemonium. If this single fails (and I doubt it will go top 10) this will probably be the last single from the album and the project will be dead. It too safe a choice.

  • At 3:31 AM, Blogger Robin said…

    Johnny D, what makes you say that it is "well and truly do or die time for the album"?

  • At 5:56 AM, Anonymous Johnny D said…

    I guess the album fell out of the charts really really quickly - A hit single could turn things around.

    If this single doesn't chart well, it's unlikely we'll see another single released, and that will be that.

    I think Pandemonium is the most immediate, catchiest track on the album, in a "Go West" kind of way.

    The Boys need a top 10 hit!

  • At 1:32 PM, Blogger Fabianesi said…

    Did you see me coming is my favourite track in the new album. I also like "The way it used to be", which melody reminds me of "it's a sin".

  • At 1:52 PM, Blogger Robin said…

    I think the album is probably performing as expected really. It has been a great comeback for the boys, despite the fact that the days of them having singles and albums hanging round in the top 10 are long gone.

    Totally agree that Pandemonium is one of the catchiest on the album. I am sure that Parlaphone has already decided to release 3 or 4 singles from Yes though.

    As bands are making more and more money from live shows instead of records these days, I'm holding out for a UK tour in the Autumn!

  • At 8:04 AM, Anonymous Anonymous said…

    I consider everyone ought to browse on it.
    nice 5 | check 3 | you may 4 also link | check link | look check superb 2 | good here


Post a Comment

<< Home