dispatches from the pop scene...minus the corn syrup.

Wednesday, February 17, 2010

Another Stock Aitken Waterman Re-Release: Haywoode's 'Arrival'

Stock Aitken Waterman fans take note: Haywoode's 1986 album Arrival has been remastered and swizzed up for its very first CD release in most territories in a special edition brought to you by the folks at Cherry Red—i.e. the UK label that reissued Lonnie Gordon, Princess and Mandy Smith's CDs last spring. Arrival was released this week.

Says the press release:
Via a succession of singles - including two forgotten gems by then-little-known underground dance producers Stock Aitken & Waterman, 'You'd Better Not Fool Around' and 'Getting Closer' (covered later by Kylie) - full international chart success finally struck for Haywoode with 'Roses' in July 1986.

The long-awaited 'Arrival' album was finally unveiled, showcasing new tracks including Haywoode's take on Prince's debut hit 'I Wanna Be Your Lover'. The album soon became a much-sought-after 'lost classic' of the era, with CDs from Japan (the only territory releasing the format beyond vinyl and cassette) still regularly fetching hundreds of pounds on eBay.

SAW expert Jeremy Kay, who worked on the project, assured me the following: "The package has been put together by the same team as Mandy, Lonnie, Princess and Sintta Hits+, so a quality product is guaranteed." Also be sure to check out Pop Trash Addicts' interview with Haywoode from last July!

Here's the full tracklist for the special edition of Haywoode's Arrival:

01. Roses (7" Version)
02. Getting Closer (7" Version) *
03. Single Handed (7'' Version) *
04. I Can’t Let You Go (Detroit 7" Mix)
05. Jelly Baby
06. You'd Better Not Fool Around (7'' Version) *
07. I Wanna Be Your Lover
08. A Time Like This (7'' Version) *
09. Missing You
10. Under Fire

11. Tease Me *
12. A Time Like This (Extended Version Part 1) *
13. Single Handed (Extended Version)
14. I Can’t Let You Go (Thigh & Mighty Mix) *
15. Getting Closer (Extended Version)
16. You'd Better Not Fool Around (Extended Version) *
17. Roses (Extended Version)

Labels: , ,


  • At 4:05 PM, Blogger MrBrady said…

    Mine arrived today, it's perfect in every way.

  • At 4:15 PM, Blogger D'luv said…

    Gotta get to ordering mine! I'm a bit behind...Still digging the Sinitta hits discs here.

  • At 4:49 PM, Blogger Moogaboo said…

    THIGH & MIGHTY. Why did we never think of that?

  • At 5:00 PM, Blogger D'luv said…

    Moog, I think we did. Someone must have taken a peak at those SAW mix tape titles we made (surprisingly while sober) that one night in '96!

  • At 11:44 PM, Blogger Mike said…

    This package is such a treat for fans. Just don't forget that Haywoode is putting out a new album in the not too distant future and the tracks I've heard are AMAZING!

  • At 10:35 AM, Blogger El MarvelOso said…

    Thanks! I have to order it!

  • At 1:17 PM, Anonymous Piers said…

    The chap is absolutely just, and there is no question.
    viagra au online here I found a lot of worthwhile info here!


Post a Comment

<< Home