dispatches from the pop scene...minus the corn syrup.

Thursday, July 15, 2010

Stuart Price Spices Up The Take That/Robbie Williams Reunion

Today it announced on the official Take That site that Robbie Williams has officially rejoined the band 15 years to the month after he quit. Gee—shocking. No, really.

Says the That's official site:
Following months of speculation Gary Barlow, Howard Donald, Jason Orange, Mark Owen and Robbie Williams confirmed today that they have been recording a new studio album as a five piece, which they will release in November of this year. It is the first time they've recorded a full album together since the release of their number one album Nobody Else, back in 1995.

'Getting the five of us to be in a room together, although always a dream, never actually seemed like becoming a reality. Now the reality of the five of us making a record together feels like a dream. It's been an absolute delight spending time with Rob again. But I'm still a better footballer' - Mark Owen.

'I get embarrassingly excited when the five of us are in a room. It feels like coming home' - Robbie Williams.

'Flippin' brilliant, absolutely brilliant. I'm over the moon that Robbie's back with us, however long it lasts. I just want to enjoy our time with him. Life is beautifully strange sometimes' - Jason Orange.

The reunion of reunions took place in New York last September, following Take That's record-breaking The Circus Live tour. Shortly afterwards all five of the original Take That secretly wrote and recorded the six songs which would set the foundation for the forthcoming album.

Since then the band have been hard at work finishing their new, as yet untitled, record, which will be released through Polydor Records in November. The album has been produced by Stuart Price.
Jesus. Stuart Price, who recently swizzed up Kylie Minogue's Aphrodite, Brandon Flowers' Flamingo and Scissor Sisters' Night Work, must never sleep.

Here's video of the newly-reunited quintet in the studio with Mr. Price:

So should we refer to Take That 2.0 now as Take That 3.0 or Take That 1.0 Take 2? Either way, Robbie's got a collection out in September—which will contain the Gary Barlow duet "Shame"—called In And Out Of Consciousness—The Greatest Hits 1990 -2010.

Here's the cover, which was revealed yesterday:

And here's the tracklist (only one Take That song? WTF?):


1 Shame (with Gary Barlow)
2 Heart And I
3 You Know Me
4 Bodies
5 Morning Sun
6 She’s Madonna
7 Lovelight
8 Rudebox
9 Sin Sin Sin
10 Advertising Space
11 Make Me Pure
12 Tripping
13 Misunderstood
14 Radio
15 Sexed Up
16 Something Beautiful
17 Come Undone
18 Feel
19 Mr Bojangles


1 I Will Talk And Hollywood Will Listen
2 Somethin’ Stupid (with Nicole Kidman)
3 The Road To Mandalay
4 Eternity
5 Let Love Be Your Energy
6 Supreme
7 Kids (with Kylie Minogue)
8 Rock DJ
9 It’s Only Us
10 She’s The One
11 Strong
12 No Regrets
13 Millennium
14 Let Me Entertain You
15 Angels
16 South Of The Border
17 Lazy Days
18 Old Before I Die
19 Freedom
20 Everything Changes (with Take That)

Labels: , ,


  • At 4:18 AM, Anonymous LAXPop said…

    enough of this "take back" fulling reforming junk....when are you going to post the REAL news of the week...that being the re-release of Adam Rickitts "I breathe Again 2010" with a crappy Mickey Modele remix (ala Sam Mumba's awful 2009 Gotta Tell You).

  • At 5:25 AM, Blogger Paul said…

    i'm pleased with take that reforming - stuart price certainly has his fingers in a lot of popstar pies lately doesn't he? I think the Robbie/Gary tracks on the greatest hits will be a good thirst quencher while I anxiously dribble over my boyhood dreams come true :)

  • At 8:31 AM, Anonymous Pranav said…

    The most exciting part of this reunion is that Stuart Price is involved. That almost guarantees a Take That sound that we have never heard before. These guys were going to be very rich after this reunion. They do not need to sing ever again after the new album and tour.

  • At 1:22 PM, Blogger Joshua said…

    OMG Adam Rickitt!! He was totally my College Crush lol

  • At 1:34 PM, Blogger Poster Girl said…

    The Stuart Price connection is unexpected but potentially interesting. I'm still not really thrilled about this reformation, but hey, if the music's good, I'll be more than happy.

    (Incidentally, my word verification is "trance." This is obviously the universe letting us know what the new Take That album is going to sound like with Stuart at the helm.)

  • At 8:09 PM, Anonymous leo said…

    it's nice to hear they're back. And with Stuart makes it even more exciting :)

  • At 6:05 PM, Anonymous muebles en madrid said…

    Oh my god, there is really much useful information here!

  • At 6:50 AM, Anonymous Herbert said…

    Thank you so much for info. to say more, please pop in this shop since this is the web site with incredibly fine stuff to read.


Post a Comment

<< Home