dispatches from the pop scene...minus the corn syrup.

Thursday, December 30, 2010

US Chart Roundup: Enrique Iglesias Keeps F***in' His Way Up The Ladder

It's strange to think that "Tonight (I'm Lovin' You)" is only the fifth Top 10 U.S. hit for Enrique Iglesias since he first experienced mainstream pop crossover in 1999, but here we are. The single (naughty version: "Tonight (I'm Fuckin' You)") jumps from last week's position of #13 on the Billboard Hot 100 to #7, and gives the hot piece of Latin tail his second American smash in a row, following the #4-charting "I Like It."

So does it matter that Enrique had to totally sell his soul to the gods of Slutwave and basically become a male Ke$ha to start having hits again? Well, probably, but who's paying attention, anyway?

Meanwhile, Bruno Mars' "Grenade" is the new #1 single, after selling 559,000 downloads last week. Guess a lot of angsty kiddies with a pension for heartbreak got iTunes gift cards for Christmas? Billboard notes that "Grenade" experienced the third biggest sales week in paid digital download history (following records set by Flo Rida's "Right Round" in 2009 and Ke$ha's "Tik Tok" earlier this year.)

And I'll admit, I'm a little disheartened by the drop of Edward Maya's "Stereo Love" from #16 to #22, but maybe things will get sorted out once the holiday season passes.

Until then...

The U.S. Top 10:

1. "Grenade" - Bruno Mars *1 week*
2. "Firework" - Katy Perry
3. "We R Who We R" - Ke$ha 
4. "What's My Name" - Rihanna feat. Drake
5. "Raise Your Glass" - Pink 
6. "Black And Gold" - Wiz Khalifa
7. "Tonight (I'm Lovin' You)" - Enrique Iglesias ft. Ludacris & DJ Frank E 
8. "Bottoms Up" - Trey Songz feat. Nicki Minaj 
9. "The Time (The Dirty Bit)" - The Black Eyed Peas
10. "Just The Way You Are" - Bruno Mars

Labels: , , ,


  • At 12:13 PM, Blogger Joshua said…

    When I first heard "I Like It" on the radio, I literally googled it as soon as I got home. "What song is sampling All Night Long by Lionel Richie???" I haven't done that in a VERY long time.

    It was that infectious and amazing and great and catchy and momentuous! That's all...

  • At 1:04 AM, Anonymous JJJ said…

    Bit harsh, no?It's hardly suprising when you think after his peak with Escape his English music bizarrely disappeared from mainstream US radio. That's why it's called a comeback.

    The supposed change in sound isn't suprising either. Wasn't (one of) the reason(s)for his commerial decline was that he changed from what people expect of him. I Like It isn't much different to the kind of songs that made up his Seven album.

    It is distinctly different from his singles which have followed more or the less the same formula apart from the EU hits Can You Hear Me & Takin'Back My Love which I Like It is a direct followup of, so it's not entirely out of the blue or squarely for US audiences.

    You can't really blame Iglesias who seems to have grown of his own formula the same as radio did to be desperate to something new. His old label I Like It outright can you believe that?

  • At 5:51 AM, Anonymous Pranav said…

    Enrique Iglesias really has sold his soul. He really was good for a few years starting with this crossover in 1999. Now, he is desperate and it seems to be working for him - at least on the singles charts.

  • At 6:26 AM, Anonymous JJJ said…

    There's not really much difference between the music in his crossover album and his current,

    Except the likes of Bailamos & Rhythm Divine had zero input and had the superficial spanish guitar layered over it because that sound was "hot" and "in" at the time.

    Considering his spanish language music that he had prior to his crossover didn't have any of that stuff and by his own admission he's not really into that sound you could argue his early English stuff was much more a sellout than his current stuff.

    Only casual listeners worry things like artists "selling out" in Iglesias' case he seemed unhappy playing it safe and decided to take a chance on a track he really liked as opposed to leaving it as an album track in favor of umpteenth attempt to recreate the Hero success.


Post a Comment

<< Home