dispatches from the pop scene...minus the corn syrup.

Sunday, November 27, 2011

UK Chart Roundup: Rihanna Sets Records, The Saturdays' New Album Flops

Several eyebrow-raising things occur this week on the UK singles chart, not the least of which is the fact that, at six weeks at #1 with "We Found Love," Rihanna has racked up a total of seven weeks at the top in 2011 — the most for any artist this year.

The Official Charts Company notes that RiRi has achieved two other feats this week: 1.) with Talk That Talk debuting atop the album chart, she's now the first female solo artist to have two #1 albums within the same year in the UK, and 2.) she's also the first artist since T. Rex (in 1972) to have racked up a simultaneous #1 single and album in the UK twice in the same year. (Previously, Loud and "What's My Name" were both on top of the charts at the same time in January.)

Back on the singles chart, One Direction's "Gotta Be You" takes a dive from last week's debut position of #3 to #16 in the same week their first LP Up All Night debuts at #2.

Meanwhile, as Flo Rida's "Good Feeling" drops one position to #3, Avicii's "Levels" — the original track "Good Feeling" samples its main melody from — enters the chart at #4.

Jumping once more to the album chart, The Saturdays suffer a colossal flop with third LP On Your Radar, which goes in at #23. Looks like the only radar those broads will be on two years from now will be the Yelp.com search results for UK-based strip clubs.

The UK Top 10:

1. "We Found Love" - Rihanna feat. Calvin Harris *6 weeks*
2. "Dance With Me Tonight" - Olly Murs *new*
3. "Good Feeling" - Flo Rida
4. "Levels" - Avicii *new*
5. "Earthquake" - Labrinth feat. Tinie Tempah
6. "Down For Whatever" - Kelly Rowland feat. The Wavs new*
7. "Lego House" - Ed Sheeran
8. "Moves Like Jagger" - Maroon 5 feat. Christina Aguilera
9. "Take Care" - Drake feat. Rihanna
10. "Nothing's Real But Love" - Rebecca Ferguson *new*

Labels: , , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home