dispatches from the pop scene...minus the corn syrup.

Thursday, April 12, 2012

US Chart Roundup: The Wanted Vs. One Direction - Which Team Are You On?

It occurred to me this week that The Wanted's self-titled album that was supposed to be released in the US on April 24 has now been downgraded to an EP. Strange, I thought, given that they've been riding high on the Billboard Hot 100 ("Glad You Came" moves back up to #3 this week) since the year began.

That said, The Wanted's UK rivals One Direction are nipping at their manly heels, as "What Makes You Beautiful" flies up to #4 in its second week within the Top 10. I think the last time two British boy bands appeared in the upper tier of the US chart at the same time was, um, well...never.

On the the "Iris"/Wanted post I put up yesterday, two anonymous commentators had this two say about the band's album downgrade:

Anonymous #1: "There is 'Deluxe Version', which has 10 tracks, which essentially makes it an album. The 'EP' is only being released to whet appetites for their second album, 'Battleground', which will be released this fall in the U.S."

Anonymous #2: "The Wanted's spin factory downgraded the album to an 'EP' in fear that its charting would pale in comparison to One Direction's (true story) album performance. Besides the fact that 1D seems to have stolen their thunder, the fear was largely based on the fact that half the tracks had been around for over a year and a half now and the relative lack of strength of the new songs they recorded (most of the new tracks they recorded were cut and deemed 'average'). For the Anonymous poster above me - Battleground is NOT being released this fall (other than an unofficial introduction onto ITunes, but that doesnt count); however their new International album (US/UK release) should be ready for a late November release date."

For what it's worth, here's where I stand with these two: "Glad You Came" is the fucking jam. I like "What Makes You Beautiful" and "Stole My Heart" off 1D's Up All Night album enough, but they're no "Glad You Came". However, The Wanted have yet to record a song as good as "Glad You Came". So at the end of the day, these guys are all only as good as their songs (and Max George's abs and butt) — which is pretty much the way I felt about Backstreet Boys and *NSYNC back in the day.

Elsewhere, fun.'s "We Are Young" is #1 for a sixth week, and has now sold over 3 million downloads — crazy, considering it's only April, and Adele's "Rolling In The Deep" was the best-selling single of all of 2011 at 5 million.

Jennifer Lopez's "Dance Again", another collaboration with in-demand (read: overused and generic) producer RedOne, debuts at #27. It might be kind of perfect, if it wasn't for the presence of Pitbull.

And on a final note, Ellie Goulding's "Lights" inches its way up to #60. At this rate, it should be in the Top 10 by February 2014.

The U.S. Top 10:

1. "We Are Young" - fun. feat. Janelle Monae *6 weeks*
2. "Somebody That I Used To Know" - Gotye feat. Kimbra
3. "Glad you Came" - The Wanted
4. "What Makes You Beautiful" - One Direction
5. "Boyfriend" - Justin Bieber
6. "Starships" - Nicki Minaj
7. "Wild Ones" - Flo Rida feat. Sia
8. "Stronger (What Doesn't Kill You)" - Kelly Clarkson
9. "Part Of Me" - Katy Perry
10. "Call Me Maybe" - Carly Rae Jepsen

Labels: , , , , ,


  • At 10:32 AM, Blogger Todd said…

    Team 1D

  • At 12:12 PM, Anonymous Kelly said…

    The Wanted are releasing this EP for American fans, this EP includes all of their singles and the deluxe version has a couple of tracks that they like. It's not like they chose the best songs they have, they just wanted to keep everyone on the same page in regard to their singles. And a new album IS coming out in the Fall. They are writing and recording new tracks right now in LA. When they announced an album, they said it would include songs from both albums and a couple of new ones. Personally I think they did well to just release an EP with the singles (even though I can't stand that "Heart Vacancy" song) and work on a whole new album. I'm obsessed with their new single "Chasing The Sun" and can't wait to hear "Satellite"...definitely team Wanted :)

  • At 2:19 PM, Anonymous cheremone said…

    Team Wanted ;-)!

    Anyway, I think that Gold Forever is their best song, and the lyrics are really meaningful...

  • At 2:24 PM, Anonymous The Original Anonymous said…

    Sorry, Second-rate Anonymous, but "Battleground" will be released in the U.S. this fall. Will it have the same UK track-listing? No, of course not. It will include some of the new songs The Wanted has been recording for the U.S. edition.

    The reason for the delay of their U.S. debut album is that indeed, all the new songs they recorded for the U.S. edition were deemed average at best, including a duet with Rihanna. So they went back to the recording studio to record more new songs, hence why their proper debut album has been pushed to the fall, and why the E.P. is being released in the meantime.

    This is taken from the Billboard article that Dluv mentioned on another post:

    "The appearance comes in anticipation of the April 24 release of the Wanted's self-titled debut, a seven-track EP arriving on Island Def Jam and complemented by a 10-song deluxe edition. The group's full-length debut, Battleground (Island Def Jam), which appeared in the United Kingdom in November and is slated to arrive stateside this fall, is certified gold there and has already spawned two No. 1s on the U.K. chart."

    So yeah, "Battleground" is being released in the U.S.

  • At 6:17 PM, Blogger David Minogue said…

    The Wanted should release 'All Time low' in the U.S. again,

    Pitbull really brings sleazy to the next level, doesn't he,

  • At 8:02 PM, Anonymous Anonymous said…

    Original Anonymous - Stop staring at your Wanted posters on your walls and just listen for a second.

    Billboard casually mentioned that it would be released in the US. I'm telling you that its going to be an unpromoted release on ITunes...not an official release.

    I stand by my original comments as to the reason of the album downgrade and the timeline for the new album. I wont go into "how" I know, as I'd be revealing too much, but you can either listen reasonably or choose to live in denial..your choice.

    The fact of the matter is The Wanted's US management as well as their record label share the exact same sentiments that D'Luv stated earlier - their only as good as their songs, and honestly their isnt much substance to their back catalog yet. "All Time Low" flopped in the US, and Battleground has performed poorly in Europe as a whole. One need only walk into a store in Berlin or Paris to see the multiple unsold copies of Battleground collecting dust. Those factors, again, along with the fact that One Directions more solid sounding album made them quickly withdraw their decision to release an album and put out in EP instead while they hurry to finish the new album with an emphasis on getting something that will be far more consistent and solid.

    Believe what you want - but dont shoot the messenger. I like "The Wanted" - but the fact of the matter is that their fans are spreading quite a lot of mis-information and denial for the true reasons for the downgrade and delay of any significant release in the US.

  • At 10:22 PM, Anonymous Anonymous said…

    Neither is worth a shit, but I'm on the twinks' side.

  • At 9:11 PM, Anonymous Anonymous said…

    Im still laughing about that last comment about Ellie Goulding....

  • At 11:06 PM, Anonymous the one direction said…

    one direction: bent over.

  • At 11:43 PM, Anonymous Anonymous said…

    i love the wanted!!!!!!! They are so talented!


Post a Comment

<< Home