dispatches from the pop scene...minus the corn syrup.

Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Pet Shop Boys Reveal 'Electric' Tracklist, Release Date & "Axis" Video

Oh, right — Pet Shop Boys have an album coming out this summer. I'd almost forgotten, since they first announced 12th LP Electric about a month-and-a-half ago. Turns out the album, which was originally slated for a June release, will now be out worldwide on July 15, via the Boys' brand new label x2 (or "times two"), through Kobalt Label Services.

The first taste of the Stuart Price-produced Electric is opening track "Axis," which contains no real singing by Neil Tennant, but plenty of spoken phrases and Italo disco mixed with Giorgio Moroder-esque flourishes.

And here's a video!

No word yet on whether "Axis" is an official single, but my guess would be that it's simply a teaser, much in the way "Invisible" was for Elysium last year.

Pet Shop Boys' official site also notes that Electric has a run time of about 50 minutes, and contains nine tracks altogether — eight originals and a cover of Bruce Springsteen's 2007 song "Last To Die." And get ready to arch an eyebrow, because rapper Example features on a song called "Thursday."

Electric tracklist

1. Axis
2. Bolshy
3. Love is a bourgeois construct
4. Fluorescent
5. Inside a dream
6. The last to die
7. Shouting in the evening
8. Thursday (featuring Example)
9. Vocal

"Axis" is available on iTunes now, while Electric is up for pre-order.



Post a Comment

<< Home