dispatches from the pop scene...minus the corn syrup.

Sunday, February 02, 2014

UK Chart: Holy Fuck — Sophie Ellis-Bextor Has A Hit Album & Katy B Has Another Top 10 Single!

Ahoy from the Land Of People Not Watching The Super Bowl! So, remember how Sophie Ellis-Bextor's new album Wanderlust surprisingly debuted at #4 on the UK album chart last week? Good news: This week it only slips one spot down, to #5. I know, I know — sexy glamour, right? Further to that, lead single "Young Blood" moves up 21 positions to #34, giving Sophe her highest single on the chart since "Bittersweet" made it to #25 in 2010.

Naturally, Sophie's pretty excited:

And that brings us to Katy B, whose fantastic synth jam "Crying For No Reason" debuts at #5, thus becoming her first Top 10 single from the Little Red era (previous two singles "What Love Is Made Of" and "5 AM" peaked at #21 and #14, respectively). Altogether, Katy has landed four Top 10 hits in the UK, the highest-charting one being 2010's "Lights On," which made it to #4.

And look — Katy's just as jazzed as Sophie:

Entirely good stuff this week.

The UK Top 10:

1. "Rather Be" - Clean Bandit feat. Jess Glynne *2 weeks*
2. "Feelin' Myself" - Will.i.am feat. Miley Cyrus, etc. *new*
3. "Happy" - Pharrell Williams
4. "Ready For Your Love" - Gorgon City feat. MNEK *new*
5. "Crying For No Reason" - Katy B *new*
6. "Timber" - Pitbull feat. Ke$ha
7. "Braveheart" - Neon Jungle
8. "Hey Brother" - Avicii
9. "Drunk In Love" - Beyonce feat. Jay Z
10. "Trumpets" - Jason Derulo

Labels: , ,