dispatches from the pop scene...minus the corn syrup.

Saturday, February 14, 2015

Shayne Ward's 'Closer' Album: Listen To Extended Song Clips, See The Deluxe Edition Tracklist

Okay, so here's everything you need to know so far about Shayne Ward's upcoming album Closer (out April 13), which is produced by Mike Stock:

1. Mike Stock was obviously one third of the legendary Stock Aitken Waterman pop production team. This past week, I got Shayne to rattle off his five favorite SAW songs (including two by Sybil!) and give a few anecdotes on each. Check that out over at Idolator.

2. There are now song snippets available online for each of the 10 tracks on the standard edition of Closer. You can hear them at Google Play, iTunes, Amazon, etc. and each of those channels' clips pulls from different parts of the song. But by far, the lengthiest clips are the ones in the below YouTube video put together by a Vietnamese fan of the singer's.

Early personal favorites: "Moving Target," "The Way You Were," "I'm So Proud Of You" and "Fake."

3. Shayne revealed the extra tracks that will appear on the deluxe edition of Closer this week on Instagram. Basically, there's one more original song ("Rendezvous, The Place I Love"), two covers (Sugababes' "About You Now" and Alexander O' Neal's "If You Were Here Tonight"), an acoustic version of "No Promises" (a #2 UK hit for Ward in 2006), a remix of the album's lead single "My Heart Would Take You Back" and "voice memo" versions of "My Heart Would Take You Back," "Make It Simple" and "Moving Target."

So the full deluxe edition tracklist for Closer is as follows:

1. Moving Target
2. My Heart Would Take You Back
3. I Never Said
4. The Way You Were
5. Too Much To Lose
6. Crying, Lying Eyes
7. I'm So Proud Of You
8. Make It Simple
9. Fake
10. I Let You Get Away
11.  Rendezvous, The Place I Love
12. About You Now
13. If You Were Here Tonight
14. No Promises (Acoustic)
15. My Heart Would Take You Back (JRMX Club Mix)
16. My Heart Would Take You Back (Voice Memo)
17. Make It Simple (Voice Memo)
18. Moving Target (Voice Memo)

Ironically, "About You Now" was released the same week as Shayne's double A-side Breathless single "No U Hang Up/If That's OK With You" back in 2007, and Sugababes thus took the top spot on the UK chart and kept Ward stuck at #2. 

And finally...

4. The video for first single "My Heart Would Take You Back" is being shot in London on February 25.

PS Closer, which is being funded through PledgeMusic, is now at 195% of of it's goal. A hundred and nintey-five percent! There's your retirement money, Shayne...or at least enough to go on a lost-weekend hooker bender some time.

Labels: , ,


  • At 12:34 PM, Anonymous Anonymous said…

    Samples sound great. Was hoping for remixes and extendeds of several tracks- disappointing that's there's only one.

  • At 6:50 PM, Blogger John said…

    I was really hoping "Fake" was another Alexander O'Neal cover, but instead I think it's the weakest song of the batch. Overall, sounds pretty solid.

  • At 7:17 AM, Blogger D'luv said…

    John, wow, do we have different tastes here - I think "Fake" is my favorite of the bunch, just based solely on these clips. wondering if it's about Simon Cowell? Hmmmm....

  • At 6:06 PM, Anonymous Pranav said…

    "Moving target" is the obvious first single. I am not sure why he would pick anything else as a lead single.

  • At 7:00 AM, Blogger Kathleen Keoghan said…

    Too much to loose is beautiful and crying lying e and has yes is very catchy. Both these would make great first singles. Glad Shaynes back he so talented and the best artist to come out of the x-Factor.

  • At 6:45 AM, Anonymous Anonymous said…

    He is so fucking hot! I like "about you now".. have u guys heard it?


Post a Comment

<< Home